RSS Feed

The Green Sage Coffeehouse and Cafe

The Green Sage Coffeehouse & Cafe in Asheville, NC.

I thought I’d start off the reviews with my favorite laptop-friendly locale in downtown Asheville.

During the doldrums of winter, I leave the comforts of my loungewear less than any other time of year. Still, at least once a week I go downtown to our company’s Asheville office to check in, pick up packages and use their fax machine and printer (cannot for the life of me get mine to work). But before I go to the office, I stop off at Green Sage. This has become my habitual haunt for a few key reasons:

1. The coffee is good… and reasonable. Does anyone actually sell cheap coffee anymore? At $1.79 for a 12-oz cup of fair trade organic goodness, I consider it a deal. You can’t even get a bad cup of coffee for much less these days. Plus they offer soy milk on their condiment counter for no extra charge (take a cue, Starbucks).

2. Friendly service. I don’t know if I go there enough for them to recognize me, but they’re always smiling and personable. It’s rare that I utter more than a grunt before my morning coffee, but at Green Sage I’m more likely to engage. And they never make me feel like I’m overstaying my welcome. I can work for two hours (sometimes more) on one cup of coffee without any lurking, leering or peering over my shoulder. Probably doesn’t hurt that I always make a point to tip well:)

3. They’re truly green. It’s not just a buzz word they flaunt to attract eco-conscious customers. From a compost and recycling station to the solar panels on the roof, they do everything they can to minimize their earthly impact, and that earns huge points with me.

4. Good food. They use local and organic ingredients when at all possible (see #3) and while my budget won’t allow me to indulge every time I’m there, it’s a treat when I do. I love their breakfast biscuits and the Autumn Smoothie is like sipping heaven through a straw. Insider tip: even when it’s not fall, they’ll make it for you if you ask and the ingredients are there.

I’ve only had Internet connection issues a couple of times, but for the most part I can work uninterrupted and, if I’m lucky, in my favorite chair:

The Green Sage Coffeehouse & Cafe, 5 Broadway Street, Asheville, NC

Leave a Reply

